Welcome to the Bartels Group of Companies
Backannotation - Deutsche Version Backannotation - English Version
Bartels

Bartels System GmbH
Bartels
Bartels AutoEngineer
BAE Product Info
BAE Price List
BAE Downloads
BAE Documentation
BAE Installation Guide
BAE User Manual
Preface
1 Introduction
2 Circuit Design
3 Packager
3.1 General
3.2 Packager
3.3 Backannotation
3.3.1 Starting the Backannotation
3.3.2 Running the Backannotation
3.3.3 Example
3.4 Net List Utilities
4 PCB Design
5 IC/ASIC Design
6 Rule System
7 Utilities
BAE Libraries
User Language Programmer's Guide
BAE Update History
BAE Next Version Release Notes Preliminary
BAE V8.0 Release Notes
BAE V7.8 Release Notes
BAE V7.6 Release Notes
BAE V7.4 Release Notes
BAE V7.2 Release Notes
BAE V7.0 Release Notes
BAE V6.8 Release Notes
BAE V6.6 Release Notes
BAE V6.4 Release Notes
BAE V6.2 Release Notes
BAE V6.0 Release Notes
BAE V5.4 Release Notes
BAE V5.0 Release Notes
BAE V4.6 Release Notes
BAE V4.4 Release Notes
BAE V4.2 Release Notes
BAE V4.0 Release Notes
BAE V3.4 Release Notes
BAE Support
BAE Contributions
BAE Development and Service Companies
Electronics Development
Bartels Sport Service
Company Profile
Corporate Info
Bartels :: Bartels AutoEngineer :: BAE Documentation :: BAE User Manual :: Packager :: Backannotation
Bartels AutoEngineer® - User Manual

3.3 Backannotation

Bartels AutoEngineer® Dokumentation

Backward annotation with the Backannotation is always required after performing layout net list modifications such as part name changes, pin/gate swaps, or alternate part package type assignments. Part names can be changed using the Netlist Part Name function from the menus for interactive part placement. Interactive pin/gate swaps are applied with the Pin/Gate Swap function from the manual part placement menu. Automatic pin/gate swap is performed with the Full Autoplacer, Single Pass Optimizer and Multi Pass Optimizer autoplacement functions, and can also be performed when using the Router P/G-Swap On option with the rip-up router of the Autorouter module. Alternate package types can be assigned using the Alternate Part submenu function during manual part placement. Note that any of the net list modifications mentioned above will get lost when re-editing the schematic without running the Backannotation.

 

3.3.1 Starting the Backannotation

Backannotation is fully integrated to the Schematic Editor and can be explicitely started using the Backannotation command from the Utilities menu.

Automatic Backannotation Requests Processing

A feature for automatically processing pending Backannotation requests is integrated to the Schematic Editor functions for loading schematic plans. Backannotation requests are generated when saving layouts with net list modifications such as pin/gate swaps or changed part names. Loading an SCM sheet with a pending Backannotation request automatically activates a verification menu which allows to backannotate the currently processed design. The Backannotation request is deleted after successfully running the Backannotation.

 

3.3.2 Running the Backannotation

Design and/or project file name and layout element name prompts are activated after calling Backannotation (pressing the ESC key aborts the Backannotation):

UtilitiesLeft Mouse Button (LMB)
BackannotationLeft Mouse Button (LMB)
Design File Name ?
Layout Element Name ?

The design file name is the name of the project file to be selected for Backannotation. The design file must be available with extension .ddb but this extension must not be included with the file name specification. If the user types an empty string (by pressing the return key Return/Enter Key (CR)) to the design file name prompt, then the system will automatically use the file name of the currently loaded or the previously processed element (i.e., the global project name).

The layout element name is the name of the layout and/or the net list to be backannotated. If the user types in an empty string (by pressing the return key Return/Enter Key (CR)) to the layout element name prompt, then the system uses the default layout element name defined with BAE setup (see also command LAYDEFELEMENT of the bsetup utility program).

After successfully processing the layout the Backannotation will generate a modified logical net list in the project file. For user information purposes Backannotation also creates an assignments file under the design file name with extension .ass. The assignments file is an ASCII file containing an annotation report (part name changes, logical to physical pin mapping).

The system issues the No errors occurred! message after successfully completing the Backannotation process, and the user can press any key to exit from the Backannotation function. Errors during Backannotation usually result from a wrong layout element name specification and/or from missing logical net list data. Missing SCM symbols and/or parts could also prevent the Backannotation from completing successfully. The Backannotation lists missing symbols/parts. These must be replaced on the SCM sheet(s) to allow for subsequent Backannotation processes to be completed successfully (the missing parts problem could also be "solved" by simply re-running the Packager instead of the Backannotation, but all netlist-specific layout modifications scheduled for Backannotation such as pin/gate swaps would then be lost).

 

3.3.3 Example

This section describes how to run Backannotation on the demo.ddb example project file which has been created in the previous chapter. You should change to the directory where the demo.ddb file resides.

Start the Schematic Editor through the BAE main menu and use the following commands to call Backannotation for transferring the physical net list named board from the demo.ddb design file back to the schematics:

UtilitiesLeft Mouse Button (LMB)
BackannotationLeft Mouse Button (LMB)
Design File Name ?demo Return/Enter Key (CR)
Layout Element Name ?board Return/Enter Key (CR)

Backannotation displays the following messages:

==============================
BARTELS BACKANNOTATION UTILITY
==============================

Design File Name ........: 'demo'
Layout Element Name .....: 'board'
No error occurred!

The No error occurred! message means that Backannotation was successfully completed and the logical net list in project file demo.ddb has been annotated with the physical net list named board.

Backannotation produces an assignment file named demo.ass which is not required by the BAE design system. You can use the part name changes report and the logical to physical pin mapping lists provided with this ASCII file for backannotating to foreign CAE systems.

Backannotation annotates physical net list modifications such as part name changes and pin/gate swaps to the schematic sheets. You can check this by examining the SCM sheet elements after successfully running the Backannotation.

Bartels :: Bartels AutoEngineer :: BAE Documentation :: BAE User Manual :: Packager :: Backannotation

Backannotation
© 1985-2017 Oliver Bartels F+E • Updated: 05 March 2007, 18:48 [UTC]

© 1985-2017 Oliver Bartels F+E Bartels Homepage Contact and Corporate Info

Web Development by Baumeister Mediasoft Engineering

Backannotation - Deutsche Version Backannotation - English Version

Willkommen bei Bartels
Backannotation - Deutsche Version Backannotation - English Version
Bartels

Bartels System GmbH
[13.07.2017 13:03:54 [UTC]] Willkommen bei Bartels / AktualisiertBartels
Bartels AutoEngineer
BAE Produktinfo
BAE Preisliste
BAE Downloads
BAE Dokumentation
BAE Installationsanleitung
BAE Benutzerhandbuch
Vorwort
1 Einleitung
2 Schaltungsentwurf
3 Packager
3.1 Allgemeine Hinweise
3.2 Packager
3.3 Backannotation
3.3.1 Funktionsaufruf
3.3.2 Funktionsablauf
3.3.3 Beispiel
3.4 Utilities zur Netzlistenverarbeitung
4 Leiterkartenentwurf
5 IC-/ASIC-Entwurf
6 Regelsystem
7 Utilities
BAE Bibliotheken
User Language Programmierhandbuch
BAE Update-Historie
BAE Nächste Version Freigabemitteilungen Vorabinfo
BAE V8.0 Freigabemitteilungen
BAE V7.8 Freigabemitteilungen
BAE V7.6 Freigabemitteilungen
BAE V7.4 Freigabemitteilungen
BAE V7.2 Freigabemitteilungen
BAE V7.0 Freigabemitteilungen
BAE V6.8 Freigabemitteilungen
BAE V6.6 Freigabemitteilungen
BAE V6.4 Freigabemitteilungen
BAE V6.2 Freigabemitteilungen
BAE V6.0 Freigabemitteilungen
BAE V5.4 Freigabemitteilungen
BAE V5.0 Freigabemitteilungen
BAE V4.6 Freigabemitteilungen
BAE V4.4 Freigabemitteilungen
BAE V4.2 Freigabemitteilungen
BAE V4.0 Freigabemitteilungen
BAE V3.4 Freigabemitteilungen
BAE Support
BAE Contrib
BAE Entwickler und Dienstleister
Elektronikentwicklung
Sport
Firmenprofil
Impressum
Bartels :: Bartels AutoEngineer :: BAE Dokumentation :: BAE Benutzerhandbuch :: Packager :: Backannotation
Bartels AutoEngineer® - Benutzerhandbuch

3.3 Backannotation

Bartels AutoEngineer® Dokumentation

Backannotation ist immer dann durchzuführen, wenn im Layout Änderungen an der Netzliste (Umbenennung von Bauteilen, Pin/Gate Swaps oder Zuweisung alternativer Gehäusebauformen) vorgenommen wurden, die in den Stromlauf zurückgemeldet werden müssen. Bauteile können mit der Funktion Name in Netzliste im Menü zur manuellen Bauteilplatzierung umbenannt werden. Pin/Gattertausch kann entweder interaktiv mit der Funktion Pin/Gate Swap im Menü zur manuellen Bauteilplatzierung oder automatisch mit den Funktionen Voll-Autoplace, Einzeloptimierung bzw. Multi-Optimierung im Autoplacement durchgeführt werden. Darüber hinaus kann auch die Option Router P/G-Swap Ein im Autorouter die automatische Anwendung von Pin/Gate Swaps während des Rip-Up-Routings bewirken. Die Zuweisung alternativer Gehäusebauformen erfolgt mit der Untermenüfunktion Bauform aendern während der manuellen Bauteilplatzierung im Layout. Es ist dringend zu beachten, dass alle oben genannten Modifikationen in der physikalischen Netzliste verloren gehen, wenn sie vor einer neuerlichen Schaltplanbearbeitung nicht mit Backannotation in den Stromlauf zurückgemeldet werden.

 

3.3.1 Funktionsaufruf

Die Backannotation ist vollständig im Schaltplaneditor integriert und kann über das Kommando Backannotation aus dem Menü Diverse bzw. Utilities gestartet werden.

Automatischer Aufruf der Backannotation

Die SCM-Funktionen zum Laden von Elementen sind mit einem Mechanismus zur wahlweisen automatischen Durchführung notwendiger Backannotation-Prozesse beim Laden von Stromlaufplänen in den Schaltplaneditor ausgestattet. Hierzu werden layoutspezifische Datenbankeinträge ausgewertet, die im Layoutsystem beim Speichern generiert werden, wenn Pin-/Gate-Swaps oder Bauteilnamensänderungen vorgenommen wurden. Ist beim Laden eines SCM-Plans eine Anforderung zur Durchführung der Backannotation vorhanden, dann wird automatisch eine Bestätigungsabfrage aktiviert, die wahlweise die Durchführung der Backannotation ermöglicht. Nach dem Backannotation-Lauf wird der Datenbankeintrag für die Backannotation-Anforderung wieder gelöscht.

 

3.3.2 Funktionsablauf

Nach dem Aufruf der Backannotation wird der Benutzer nacheinander um den Namen der Design- bzw. Projektdatei und den Namen des Layouts gefragt, wobei durch Betätigung der ESC-Taste (ASCII-Code 003) ein Abbruch des Backannotation-Laufs veranlasst werden kann:

UtilitiesLinke Maustaste (LMB)
BackannotationLinke Maustaste (LMB)
Design Dateiname ?
Layout Elementname ?

Für den Design Dateinamen ist der Name der Jobdatei einzugeben, für die die Netzlistenumsetzung durchgeführt werden soll. Die Jobdatei muss mit der Extension .ddb verfügbar sein; der Dateiname ist ohne diese Extension anzugeben. Wird ein Leerstring (Betätigen der Eingabetaste Return-/Eingabetaste (CR)) für den Dateinamen eingegeben, dann verwendet das System den Dateinamen des aktuell geladenen bzw. des im vorhergehenden Programm-Modul des Bartels AutoEngineer geladenen Elements, d.h. den systemweiten Projektnamen.

Auf die Abfrage nach dem Layout Elementnamen ist der Name der zu transferierenden Netzliste bzw. des modifizierten Layouts einzutragen. Betätigt der Anwender hier nur die Eingabetaste Return-/Eingabetaste (CR) (leerer String), dann trägt die Software automatisch den über das Setup (siehe Kommando LAYDEFELEMENT in bsetup-Beschreibung) definierten Default-Layoutelementnamen ein.

Nach der Eingabe des Layout Elementnamen wird die Layoutnetzliste in den Stromlaufplan zurücktransferiert. Unter dem Jobdateinamen mit der Extension .ass wird eine Assignmentlist ausgegeben. Die Assignmentlist wird vom System nicht weiter benötigt und ist zur Auswertung durch den Benutzer bestimmt (Änderungshistorie).

Nach erfolgreichem Backannotation-Lauf erscheint die Meldung Es wurden keine Fehler festgestellt., und die Backannotation-Funktion kann durch durch Betätigung einer beliebigen Taste beendet werden. Sollte es zu Fehlermeldungen kommen, dann deutet dies in der Regel auf die falsche Angabe des Layoutelementnamens oder das Fehlen der logischen Netzliste hin. Eine erfolgreiche Druchführung der Backannotation ist auch nicht möglich, wenn erforderliche Schaltplansymbole bzw. Bauteile fehlen weil sie zuvor irrtümlicherweise aus dem Schaltplan gelöscht wurden. Die Backannotation gibt ggf. Hinweise auf fehlende Bauteile aus. Diese Bauteile sind im Schaltplan zu platzieren, um anschließend einen erfolgreichen Backannotation-Lauf zu ermöglichen (das Problem fehlender SCM-Bauteile liesse sich auch durch einen Packager-Lauf "beheben", wodurch aber dann ggf. Layoutmodifikationen wie Pin-/Gateswaps verloren gehen würden).

 

3.3.3 Beispiel

Im Folgenden soll ein Backannotation-Lauf für die Jobdatei demo.ddb durchgeführt werden. Wechseln Sie hierzu in das Verzeichnis, in dem demo.ddb abgelegt ist.

Starten Sie BAE, rufen Sie den Schaltplaneditor auf, und transferieren Sie mit den folgenden Kommandos die in demo.ddb enthaltene physikalische Netzliste mit dem Namen board zurück in den Stromlauf:

UtilitiesLinke Maustaste (LMB)
BackannotationLinke Maustaste (LMB)
Design Dateiname ?demo Return-/Eingabetaste (CR)
Layout Elementname ?board Return-/Eingabetaste (CR)

Backannotation gibt folgende Meldungen auf dem Bildschirm aus:

==============================
BARTELS BACKANNOTATION UTILITY
==============================

Design Dateiname ........: 'demo'
Layout Elementname ......: 'board'
Es wurden keine Fehler festgestellt.

Der Backannotation-Lauf wurde erfolgreich beendet (Meldung Es wurden keine Fehler festgestellt.), und die in der Datei demo.ddb enthaltene logische Netzliste wurde ggf. modifiziert.

Die von der Backannotation erzeugte Assignmentslist demo.ass wird vom System nicht weiter benötigt. Sie können mit Hilfe Ihres Editors einen Blick auf die in dieser Datei enthaltenen Informationen werfen, um festzustellen, welche Bauteilnamen geändert wurden bzw. welche Pins oder Gatter gegeneinander getauscht wurden.

Backannotation bildet die modifizierte Netzliste auf den Stromlaufplan ab. Überprüfen Sie dies, indem Sie sich nach dem erfolgreichen Backannotation-Lauf im Stromlauf-Editor die entsprechenden Stromlaufblätter ansehen.

Bartels :: Bartels AutoEngineer :: BAE Dokumentation :: BAE Benutzerhandbuch :: Packager :: Backannotation

Backannotation
© 1985-2017 Oliver Bartels F+E • Aktualisiert: 05. March 2007, 18:48 [UTC]

© 1985-2017 Oliver Bartels F+E Bartels Startseite Kontakt und Impressum

Webentwicklung Baumeister Mediasoft Engineering

Backannotation - Deutsche Version Backannotation - English Version